New to the Forum

rick.henion
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

New to the Forum

Post by rick.henion on Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:09 pm

This is my first post to the Forum, so I hope I've got it right.  I've long been interested in traditional crossbows but I have been put off by my total inability to make or find bows (prods).  Oddly, gun barrels could be had almost anywhere, and since most of the early guns that I liked were smooth bored, barrels could be made by almost any machine shop.  So I guess that's where I've been the past twenty or so years.

However; now that I have found this forum, I see that there are some tremendously talented people crafting some fantastic crossbows and related equipment out there.  It makes me wonder why I feared a spring steel bow (prod) right in front of my face, but had no qualms about a gun powder filled tube in the same place.  Be that as it may, I am interested in jumping right into the craft!

I guess I'll ask my first stupid question: I see Alchem, Slobow, and DIGITARC all currently make steel prods; I have also looked at a number of posts and really fantastic pictures of original and "new" bows in this forum.  I am looking for a recommendation(s) for someone who makes/sells, well proportioned prods, in the 150-300 lb. range, with as close to 'rolled pin tips' as possible, and if possible available without having to wait until the next Renaissance for them?  I was hoping to get started on a build before the winter ends and the demands of summer slow the prospects for progress.

Jack Pine
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Re: New to the Forum

Post by Jack Pine on Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:39 am

Hi Rick, glad you're here. I'm not one of the talented people on here, I'm just nuts about crossbows.

Jack ><>

phuphuphnik
    Workshop Savvy

Did you see my tool collection?

Workshop SavvyDid you see my tool collection?