» xbow build.. trying to finish..where does the time go
by Onager Lovac Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:30 pm

» An afternoon at the range
by Gnome Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:00 am

» I am back with new project
by stm2010 Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:35 am

» European medieval an renaissance archery contests and target
by Lightly Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:08 pm

How many meters could the most powerful handheld crossbows shoot over a horizontal trajectory?

JimKS
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

How many meters could the most powerful handheld crossbows shoot over a horizontal trajectory?

Post by JimKS on Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:36 pm

I've read articles that claim that medieval crossbows could accurately hit a target more than 300 yards away. However, I don't whether to believe that, considering that the modern crossbows that I've seen can't accurately hit a target more than 60 yards away. 

What was the effective range of the most powerful handheld medieval crossbows?

Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

Re: How many meters could the most powerful handheld crossbows shoot over a horizontal trajectory?

Post by Geezer on Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:02 pm

Well, if you're talking about true point-blank, fired horizontally from the shoulder... say 6 feet from the ground, from a medieval bow, you'll get @ 200 fps... maybe as much as 250 or as little as 150, depending on the weight of projectile, efficiency of prod, etc. etc. So point blank will probably be around 50 yards... that's when the bolt hits the dirt.  Some modern crossbows get up to 400 fps, so their point blank would be rather longer, but not awfully much.