Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Nut from a pool que ball?
by drawknife Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:29 am

» my composite crossbow lath project
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:07 am

» Trouble with my Gafa
by drawknife Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:56 am

» Do all triggers Have claws - what types and claw or no claw
by globalmark Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:19 am

» For Sale: Masai Crossbow
by TonyU Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:15 pm

» Medieval composite bows
by juanjo Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:10 am

» yew and sinew prod help needed
by stuckinthemud1 Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:34 am

» Small gothic crossbow (with wooden lever)
by OrienM Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:35 am

» Binding on the stirrup
by Geezer Sat May 26, 2018 7:26 am

» horn inlay and veneer
by OrienM Thu May 24, 2018 8:44 pm

» Presentation
by c sitas Wed May 23, 2018 4:31 pm

» My latest crossbow
by drawknife Tue May 22, 2018 3:13 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by stuckinthemud1 Sun May 20, 2018 5:32 am

» angles and rivets
by Geezer Fri May 18, 2018 1:16 pm

» morticed nut blocks
by Dark Factor Wed May 16, 2018 12:02 pm

» Crossbow triggers
by Croftage Mon May 14, 2018 1:41 pm

» Cocking lever
by c sitas Fri May 11, 2018 8:09 am

» Late roman crossbow
by Dark Factor Wed May 09, 2018 10:27 am

» Powermaster Madness
by Archer46176 Sun May 06, 2018 8:08 pm

» Fast loading crossbow
by septua Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:22 am

» lashing a glass prod in raw hide?
by kenh Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:00 am

» Balestra Veloce / Leonardo DaVinci
by msalazar2310 Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:37 am

» Goats Foot Lever
by Geezer Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:42 pm

» Hickory and Ipe 180lb flatbow
by actionbow Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:56 pm

» goat foot questions.
by Geezer Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:26 am


    Tension Pins

    Share
    avatar
    Euell
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 39
    Join date : 2015-02-14

    Tension Pins

    Post by Euell on Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:14 pm

    I'm planning to use tension pins for the roller nut and the trigger on my crossbow, the size is 3/16 x 2" would this work. Also my home made crossbow will be in two parts so that the mech section will be open for repairs.

    c sitas
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 474
    Join date : 2012-11-24

    Re: Tension Pins

    Post by c sitas on Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:38 pm

    I'm know expert but, I have had a bad experience with split pins. I think they would be one and the same. In my case I was using them in my lock for stop pins. and three out of four were cracked in half .They are almost hard as glass. Where  you are dealing with the kind of power you have here i would stick with a solid axle, say about 3/16 or so. Since my problem I've switched to 1/4" shoulder bolts and really like them. When playing  with these crossbow you have to treat them same as a loaded gun. Don't make room for an accident and you won't have one. Above all have fun and enjoy the build.I look forward to seeing pictures.

    c sitas
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 474
    Join date : 2012-11-24

    Re: Tension Pins

    Post by c sitas on Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:06 pm

    After I posted before ,I just now remembered there are two kinds of pins. One is spiral wound and one is just spit the full length. Just the fact that they are called tension pins, I think they would be finicky to size right. You know, tight in the frame loose in the nut. I 'd still stand by my first call though.
    avatar
    Euell
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 39
    Join date : 2015-02-14

    Re: Tension Pins

    Post by Euell on Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:13 pm

    Thanks c sitas for the reply. But maybe I need to be more up front about the tension pins they are made of steel and thinking of putting a threaded rod inside it, that is if I can find the right size rod.
    Euell
    avatar
    Euell
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 39
    Join date : 2015-02-14

    Re: Tension Pins

    Post by Euell on Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:19 pm

    Also down the road, I will post pictures of my build, and maybe add some wood carvings to it.
    Euell

    Sponsored content

    Re: Tension Pins

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:38 am