Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Medieval bowyer
by kenh Today at 6:55 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:58 pm

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:21 pm

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:11 am

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 4:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:54 pm

» Padre Island Bow
by Geezer Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:14 pm

» Blocked pictures by Photobucket
by Crossbowmen Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:33 pm


    crossbow string

    Share
    avatar
    firensword
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 3
    Join date : 2010-05-18
    Age : 44
    Location : glasgow scotland

    crossbow string

    Post by firensword on Tue May 18, 2010 4:03 pm

    does any1 know the easyst way to change the string on a medieval crossbow as im struggling to change it as its to powerfull for any1 to change it by hand any advice?
    avatar
    arbalest
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 9
    Join date : 2010-04-20
    Age : 68
    Location : Windham, ME

    changing string

    Post by arbalest on Tue May 18, 2010 7:37 pm

    How do you currently span your bow? You might try a bastard string. You will need to figure out the length. You want a string long enough to draw the bow back farther than normal, far enough to allow removal of the problem string. I would figure a length long enough to hook over the end of the tiller. Replace the string, and push the bastard string up over the tiller to release the tension. If you calculated the length properly, there should be no problem with the "dry fire", as the bow will travel much less distance than with a full release. Remove the bastard string and you are done. Hope this helps.

    Arbalest
    avatar
    Ivo
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 1041
    Join date : 2009-11-25
    Age : 29
    Location : NJ, USA

    Changing crossbow strings

    Post by Ivo on Wed May 19, 2010 7:54 pm

    Hello Jim,

    As I can see from the picture that crossbow has a stirrup. I'm guessing you can span it by hand?

    If that is so than it's probably no more than 200lb...right? In most such cases it's possible to change the string using this method. VVV

    Steady the stock, but DO NOT use it for leverage.



    If the crossbow is much more powerful, then a bastard string should definitely be used. A very good example of such bastard string and an explanation of it's use can be found in the "Bow String" Chapter of Sir Ralph Payne-Gallwey's "The Crossbow" >>>Page 110

    PS: it would be a good idea to edit the name of your topic to something along the lines of "changing crossbow strings" ...don't you agree?





    * *
    ~ "I don't have any special talents. I'm only passionately curious."
    * * *
    ~ "All Genius is Simple"
    * *

    Sponsored content

    Re: crossbow string

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm