Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Ball shooting Crossbows worth the bother
by septua Yesterday at 11:07 am

» my composite crossbow lath project
by stuckinthemud1 Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:35 pm

» Limb harding\ tempering ?
by ragumup Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:03 am

» how made homemade (reverse) crossbow ?
by Ricardo Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:56 pm

» Pump action crossbow (powerful)
by Ivanhoe Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:50 am

» nut from antler
by OrienM Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:50 am

» Wooden Crossbows - Seeking Info
by kenh Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:53 pm

» Nut from a pool que ball?
by drawknife Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:29 am

» Trouble with my Gafa
by drawknife Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:56 am

» Do all triggers Have claws - what types and claw or no claw
by globalmark Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:19 am

» For Sale: Masai Crossbow
by TonyU Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:15 pm

» Medieval composite bows
by juanjo Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:10 am

» yew and sinew prod help needed
by stuckinthemud1 Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:34 am

» Small gothic crossbow (with wooden lever)
by OrienM Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:35 am

» Binding on the stirrup
by Geezer Sat May 26, 2018 7:26 am

» horn inlay and veneer
by OrienM Thu May 24, 2018 8:44 pm

» Presentation
by c sitas Wed May 23, 2018 4:31 pm

» My latest crossbow
by drawknife Tue May 22, 2018 3:13 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by stuckinthemud1 Sun May 20, 2018 5:32 am

» angles and rivets
by Geezer Fri May 18, 2018 1:16 pm

» morticed nut blocks
by Dark Factor Wed May 16, 2018 12:02 pm

» Crossbow triggers
by Croftage Mon May 14, 2018 1:41 pm

» Cocking lever
by c sitas Fri May 11, 2018 8:09 am

» Late roman crossbow
by Dark Factor Wed May 09, 2018 10:27 am

» Powermaster Madness
by Archer46176 Sun May 06, 2018 8:08 pm


    crossbow string

    Share
    avatar
    firensword
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 3
    Join date : 2010-05-18
    Age : 45
    Location : glasgow scotland

    crossbow string

    Post by firensword on Tue May 18, 2010 1:03 pm

    does any1 know the easyst way to change the string on a medieval crossbow as im struggling to change it as its to powerfull for any1 to change it by hand any advice?
    avatar
    arbalest
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 9
    Join date : 2010-04-20
    Age : 69
    Location : Windham, ME

    changing string

    Post by arbalest on Tue May 18, 2010 4:37 pm

    How do you currently span your bow? You might try a bastard string. You will need to figure out the length. You want a string long enough to draw the bow back farther than normal, far enough to allow removal of the problem string. I would figure a length long enough to hook over the end of the tiller. Replace the string, and push the bastard string up over the tiller to release the tension. If you calculated the length properly, there should be no problem with the "dry fire", as the bow will travel much less distance than with a full release. Remove the bastard string and you are done. Hope this helps.

    Arbalest
    avatar
    Ivo
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 1041
    Join date : 2009-11-25
    Age : 30
    Location : NJ, USA

    Changing crossbow strings

    Post by Ivo on Wed May 19, 2010 4:54 pm

    Hello Jim,

    As I can see from the picture that crossbow has a stirrup. I'm guessing you can span it by hand?

    If that is so than it's probably no more than 200lb...right? In most such cases it's possible to change the string using this method. VVV

    Steady the stock, but DO NOT use it for leverage.



    If the crossbow is much more powerful, then a bastard string should definitely be used. A very good example of such bastard string and an explanation of it's use can be found in the "Bow String" Chapter of Sir Ralph Payne-Gallwey's "The Crossbow" >>>Page 110

    PS: it would be a good idea to edit the name of your topic to something along the lines of "changing crossbow strings" ...don't you agree?





    * *
    ~ "I don't have any special talents. I'm only passionately curious."
    * * *
    ~ "All Genius is Simple"
    * *

    Sponsored content

    Re: crossbow string

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:20 am