Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by c sitas Yesterday at 12:16 pm

» Trying to reduce the power stroke in my next project
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:27 pm

» The Road so far......
by Onager Lovac Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:07 pm

» Its good to be back!!
by Juan galeano Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:31 am

» The crossbow...What is?!
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:07 pm

» Compact repeating compound project
by jocky Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:46 am

» I need your advices on a new crossbow project
by Daniel Levesque Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:58 pm

» Reverse draw "compound" build
by c sitas Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:07 am

» Guidance Designing My First Slinger
by kenh Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:17 pm

» New member
by harry6855 Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:28 am

» Chinese style crossbow trigger 3d modeled with templates.
by Bs1110101 Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:14 am

» Crusader crossbow
by Anatine Duo Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:03 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by hullutiedemies Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:52 am

» Hello from Asia
by Daniel Levesque Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:49 am

» Medieval crossbow modeled in Tinkercad, with variant trigger design.
by Bs1110101 Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:42 pm

» New project"s"
by kenh Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:38 pm

» New member here!
by c sitas Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:49 am

» Fixing a bad delflex
by Daniel Levesque Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:13 am

» H L Bailey Plans
by ora8i Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:49 am

» Top of Crossbow (launch?)
by Geezer Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:41 pm

» Finished Crossbow
by SlingerDave Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:47 pm

» Split limb and Draw length
by c sitas Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:25 pm

» Starting a New One
by c sitas Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:24 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Shooting video
by Onager Lovac Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:32 pm

» First submission
by War Song Thu Mar 16, 2017 1:25 pm


    Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Share

    Nusantara99
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 4
    Join date : 2015-04-20

    Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Post by Nusantara99 on Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:42 am

    Would like to ask you guys here if the traditional Chinese crossbow mechanism (i.e Han dynasty bronze lock design) would be suitable for draw weights up to 200 pounds? In context assume steel construction.
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 907
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Re: Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Post by Geezer on Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:06 am

    Geezer here, commenting on the traditional Chinese crossbow lock.  I think that lock, built in bronze like the originals, should be good for several hundred pounds draw.  In bronze, one might well see a fair amount of wear on sear-surfaces.

      Current date/time is Mon May 01, 2017 12:04 am