Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Reciprocating Saw?
by chaz Yesterday at 11:37 pm

» has anyone checked out the sling shot channel lately?
by Andy. Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:11 pm

» Brace Hieght?
by chaz Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:02 pm

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by fester Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:08 pm

» Hemp cord and nut drilling?
by fester Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:22 am

» My project Powermaster
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:54 pm

» Lillohus crossbow
by Dark Factor Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:45 pm

» Old Powermaster project & question.
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:14 am

» Medieval composite bows
by Dark Factor Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:44 am

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:30 pm

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am


    Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Share

    Nusantara99
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 4
    Join date : 2015-04-20

    Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Post by Nusantara99 on Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:42 am

    Would like to ask you guys here if the traditional Chinese crossbow mechanism (i.e Han dynasty bronze lock design) would be suitable for draw weights up to 200 pounds? In context assume steel construction.
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 966
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Re: Chinese crossbow mechanism for higher draw weights?

    Post by Geezer on Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:06 am

    Geezer here, commenting on the traditional Chinese crossbow lock.  I think that lock, built in bronze like the originals, should be good for several hundred pounds draw.  In bronze, one might well see a fair amount of wear on sear-surfaces.

      Current date/time is Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:47 am