Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Reciprocating Saw?
by chaz Yesterday at 11:37 pm

» has anyone checked out the sling shot channel lately?
by Andy. Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:11 pm

» Brace Hieght?
by chaz Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:02 pm

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by fester Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:08 pm

» Hemp cord and nut drilling?
by fester Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:22 am

» My project Powermaster
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:54 pm

» Lillohus crossbow
by Dark Factor Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:45 pm

» Old Powermaster project & question.
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:14 am

» Medieval composite bows
by Dark Factor Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:44 am

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:30 pm

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am


    Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod and then wrap the prod in black tape?

    Share
    avatar
    Dennis Greenaway
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 3
    Join date : 2017-02-18

    Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod and then wrap the prod in black tape?

    Post by Dennis Greenaway on Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:51 pm

    Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod  and then wrap the prod in black tape?
    I read this in his book and have the hunter crossbow of his, and that is how he his the prod.  I shoot steel prods and wondered if I should consider doing this to my prod.

    Thank you

    Andy.
    Tinkerer

    If there is a will, there is a way.


    TinkererIf there is a will, there  is a way.

    Posts : 63
    Join date : 2014-09-05

    Re: Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod and then wrap the prod in black tape?

    Post by Andy. on Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 pm

    Am assuming to contain steel fragments and prevent harm to the shooter in case of breakage.

    I have used heat shrink tube in the past over both steel and glass prods for the same reason, but have recently used heat shrink woven mesh tube on a restored Horton Safari magnum to remain faithful to the factory finish.
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 966
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Re: Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod and then wrap the prod in black tape?

    Post by Geezer on Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:31 pm

    Yes, I assume GS wrapped prods from fear of breaking, with many dangerous shards.  Medieval archers, simply laid a 'sicher' safety cord of plaited cord or leather down the back of the prod, to prevent its breaking and flying. Some modern makers, like Alchem and Slobows fit a bit of heat-shrink tubing around the center 6 inches or so, in case the prod fails.  In fact, I've had a lot of experience with commercially made prods from the above makers, plus Darkwood Armory, and can count the failures of steel prods on one hand. And in no case was anybody hurt. A friend did break an aluminum prod in my shop once... it was only @ 65 lb, and resulted in a bandaid.  But if you're not sure of your prod, particularly if it's a strong one, I think heat-shrink tubing would be a good idea.  It won't add much weight or reduce velocity by much, and isn't unsightly.  I say go for it.  Geezer.

    Sponsored content

    Re: Why did George Stevens glue a layer of linen to the prod and then wrap the prod in black tape?

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:41 am