First submission

War Song
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

First submission

Post by War Song on Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:13 pm

My third crossbow, but the first two had been junks I am too embarrassed to post here XD. Still not as pretty as the other submissions I seen here I'm afraid, but I hope it's passable.

Delrin nut, stock made from oak and maple mill cuts from Home Depot, a polypropylene rope for a bow string, and a bunch of scrap parts and hardware I had laying around cobbled together into surprisingly comfortable shooter. Loose laminate prod from fence tension bars (thanks @kenh).

The new prod (old one broke) is working like a charm. was able to check the draw today with a bathroom scale and it weighs in at 65 to 70 pounds at 13" powerstroke.

Performance is currently a disappointment, clocked a 500 grain bolt at 102 fps, or 12 ft.lbs, on the chrony Neutral. I suspect my 1 inch brace was just a tad too low to be practical, so I shortened the string for a 2 inch brace. Sun went down before I can clock it again though. 

Excuse the rubber band, it's acting as a temporary return spring for the trigger mech. Would replace later with a proper coil spring.

Nut and side plate removed here. Just a simple sliding pin to lock and release the nut, actuated by a lever (which I bent into a sort of grease gun trigger to accommodate a pistol grip). 

If you're wondering, the clip spring was bent from an aluminum gutter hanger. Have a lot of those laying around from my old job as a roofer.
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

I live here!

Crossbow JunkieI live here!

Re: First submission

Post by kenh on Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:42 am

We all have to start somewhere!  That's an interesting build; at least this one shoots!

A couple of comments not intended to be critical, but rather constructive: