Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» where to find antler for nut construction
by victortkz Sat May 25, 2019 10:47 am

» Steel prod - unknown draw weight
by Cornerstone Sat May 25, 2019 3:07 am

» Compound twinbow pistol (posts vs pulleys)
by Mooki Mon May 06, 2019 8:21 am

» making a reproduction of a 15th century cranequin
by victortkz Fri May 03, 2019 3:51 am

» can you point me in the direction of a post on nut-making
by kenh Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:09 am

» Chinese Han Dynasty Crossbow 300lbs 20" powerstroke
by Geezer Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:56 am

» best way of spanning a 200+lb bow
by msalazar2310 Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:55 am

» My latest crossbow creation, the Vanquish
by MPDVM Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:50 pm

» Steel prod on a crossbow
by c sitas Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:33 am

» robin allen crossbow for sale or trade
by elkhunter Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:47 pm

» man made material for reinforced socket
by 8fingers Sat Apr 20, 2019 12:36 pm

» Dimension help
by kenh Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:15 am

» how do I finish a mixed material tiller
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:55 am

» All metal Self Loading Crossbow Build Information needed
by Wildtech Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:01 am

» hello! introductions
by kenh Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:31 pm

» Brand new Demon crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:33 am

» SOLD: Masai Huntsman Crossbow
by TonyU Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:05 pm

» Another New Crossbow Builder
by Geezer Wed Mar 27, 2019 12:40 pm

» Side plates and axle pin?
by Geezer Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:01 pm

» 3D crossbow design
by Andy. Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:23 pm

» Making a stirrup
by Geezer Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:17 pm

» 8mm or 10mm for pivot
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Mar 10, 2019 3:33 pm

» Need an expert
by julianpam Thu Mar 07, 2019 12:09 am

» My etsy store, chu ko nu repeating crossbows for sale
by actionbow Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:00 pm

» Hello Everyone
by kenh Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:01 am


    Making a stirrup

    avatar
    fester
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 32
    Join date : 2017-08-18
    Location : South sheilds, england

    Making a stirrup Empty Making a stirrup

    Post by fester on Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:01 pm

    how do you finish your stirrup after putting four bends in a piece of flat bar do you just but the ends up so the stirrup is not jointed in between the bridle bindings?
    Overlap them?
    Im planning on making a make shift forge should I attempt a fire weld them together?
    Geezer
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 1101
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 71
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Making a stirrup Empty Re: Making a stirrup

    Post by Geezer on Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:17 pm

    I usually overlap the ends, drill a hole thru, and insert a copper rivet.  To make the stirrup wider, where it binds to the bridle-block, I add a big round 'fender' washer on the 'bottom' to give the stirrup more support. I think you can find photos of unmounted bound-in stirrups in Holger Richter's "Die Hornbogen Armbrust."  Note the ancient smiths included a wide, flat surface in exactly the same place.  The big difference is that real medieval stirrups usuallly have a T cross-section in the tread (where you put your foot) to prevent the stirrup bending around your foot under a heavy load.  Geezer.

      Current date/time is Mon May 27, 2019 5:46 am