Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» How to make a slurbow?
by banuvatt Today at 12:08 pm

» Compound twinbow pistol (posts vs pulleys)
by c sitas Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:10 pm

» Contact details of steel prod makers
by Geezer Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:24 pm

» Seal lath bindings, what to use?
by banuvatt Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:33 am

» measuring speed
by stuckinthemud1 Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:31 am

» installing a tickler
by Geezer Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:25 am

» birch bark covering
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:27 am

» thank you n hope to learn in this forum
by kenh Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:01 am

» Red Oak Board (x)Bow.
by banuvatt Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:20 am

» New member intro and couple of questions
by Wildtech Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:46 am

» best way of spanning a 200+lb bow
by stuckinthemud1 Fri May 31, 2019 3:31 am

» where to find antler for nut construction
by victortkz Sat May 25, 2019 10:47 am

» Steel prod - unknown draw weight
by Cornerstone Sat May 25, 2019 3:07 am

» making a reproduction of a 15th century cranequin
by victortkz Fri May 03, 2019 3:51 am

» can you point me in the direction of a post on nut-making
by kenh Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:09 am

» Chinese Han Dynasty Crossbow 300lbs 20" powerstroke
by Geezer Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:56 am

» My latest crossbow creation, the Vanquish
by MPDVM Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:50 pm

» Steel prod on a crossbow
by c sitas Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:33 am

» robin allen crossbow for sale or trade
by elkhunter Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:47 pm

» man made material for reinforced socket
by 8fingers Sat Apr 20, 2019 12:36 pm

» Dimension help
by kenh Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:15 am

» how do I finish a mixed material tiller
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:55 am

» All metal Self Loading Crossbow Build Information needed
by Wildtech Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:01 am

» hello! introductions
by kenh Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:31 pm

» Brand new Demon crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:33 am


    Dimension help

    avatar
    Archer46176
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 44
    Join date : 2011-04-19

    Dimension help Empty Dimension help

    Post by Archer46176 on Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:00 pm

    I ordered 2 of the Alchem replacement prods for a Powermaster I bought with an aluminum prod. My first idea was to replace the aluminum prod AND make a clone of the powermaster to use the second prod. I now think I may just make a couple of either nut or pin style crossbows. This is the info from the alchem website on the prods I bought "6732 7/32" 34" 1" 3/8" 0 80 to 110 @14.75" Powermaster 14.75"...
    What angle would be best for this prod to sit at? What weight of projectile should I use?
    avatar
    Wildtech
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 11
    Join date : 2019-02-24

    Dimension help Empty Re: Dimension help

    Post by Wildtech on Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:56 am

    Hi

    7-9 degrees is what my Medieval Crossbows have.
    You are wanting the string to rest on the top of the track with only a little down force when at rest. Any more and you loose power in the down force when released.

    I run between 180 to 200 grain points on 16 inch long bolts of 5/16 and 3/8 thick (8-9mm).
    Good for 40m accurate shots.

    regards
    Brenton
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 798
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 71
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Dimension help Empty Re: Dimension help

    Post by kenh on Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:15 am

    Ideally you want the string to be almost half of the bolt diameter above the track at full draw (so it hits the center of the bolt), and just barely touching the deck at rest.

    Sponsored content

    Dimension help Empty Re: Dimension help

    Post by Sponsored content

      Similar topics

      -

      Current date/time is Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:34 pm