Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Yesterday at 12:30 pm

» Medieval composite bows
by kenh Yesterday at 10:55 am

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm


    Did I Make a mistake?

    Share
    avatar
    TDHorton
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 11
    Join date : 2010-08-18
    Age : 71
    Location : Salida, CO

    Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by TDHorton on Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:16 pm

    I ordered a 2"X6"X36" piece of walnut for my first effort. Good decision/bad decision? Advice please. (A little late to be asking, but just hoping someone will say I didn't throw my money away!)

    Terry
    avatar
    Todd the archer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 581
    Join date : 2010-02-25
    Age : 55
    Location : sellersville,pa.

    Re: Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by Todd the archer on Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:17 pm

    No you didn't waste your money. Here's one I made for my Excalibur:



    and another of a medieval style a work in progress:



    Todd
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 959
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    walnut a mistake?

    Post by Geezer on Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:53 am

    Did you make a mistake buying walnut for your crossbow stock. Not at all. Walnut is easy to work and makes a beautiful stock. I make crossbows from walnut every year with no problems. Geezer.

    Sponsored content

    Re: Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:50 pm