Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Beware of Alchem
by Geezer Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:38 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm

» Padre Island Bow
by Geezer Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:14 pm

» Blocked pictures by Photobucket
by Crossbowmen Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:33 pm

» Geezer website?
by Geezer Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:01 pm

» Could I get advise on order of operations?
by Bs1110101 Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:02 am

» Renaissance Sporting crossbow
by chaz Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:22 am

» Welcome! Welcome! Welcome!
by Agniznag Sat Jul 08, 2017 12:26 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by Agniznag Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:56 am

» opinions please
by Geezer Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:19 pm

» Hello all!
by Tarzan65 Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:54 am

» Yet another one
by Daniel Levesque Sun Jul 02, 2017 9:37 am

» Renaissance peep sight
by kenh Fri Jun 30, 2017 4:48 am

» Chinese crossbow with auxiliary string?
by stm2010 Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:48 am


    Did I Make a mistake?

    Share
    avatar
    TDHorton
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 11
    Join date : 2010-08-18
    Age : 71
    Location : Salida, CO

    Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by TDHorton on Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:16 pm

    I ordered a 2"X6"X36" piece of walnut for my first effort. Good decision/bad decision? Advice please. (A little late to be asking, but just hoping someone will say I didn't throw my money away!)

    Terry
    avatar
    Todd the archer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 581
    Join date : 2010-02-25
    Age : 55
    Location : sellersville,pa.

    Re: Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by Todd the archer on Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:17 pm

    No you didn't waste your money. Here's one I made for my Excalibur:



    and another of a medieval style a work in progress:



    Todd
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 945
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    walnut a mistake?

    Post by Geezer on Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:53 am

    Did you make a mistake buying walnut for your crossbow stock. Not at all. Walnut is easy to work and makes a beautiful stock. I make crossbows from walnut every year with no problems. Geezer.

    Sponsored content

    Re: Did I Make a mistake?

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:27 am