Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Yesterday at 12:30 pm

» Medieval composite bows
by kenh Yesterday at 10:55 am

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm


    horn strips

    Share
    avatar
    tghsmith
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 7
    Join date : 2010-12-14
    Location : raleigh nc

    horn strips

    Post by tghsmith on Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:18 am

    has anyone purchased or tried the buffalo horn strips that are posted on ebay? looks a little pricey but also looks like good product.. coming out off hong kong

    8fingers
    Workshop Savvy

    Did you see my tool collection?


    Workshop SavvyDid you see my tool collection?

    Posts : 186
    Join date : 2011-04-06
    Location : Chetwynd, BC, Canada

    Re: horn strips

    Post by 8fingers on Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:19 am

    Try Rudder Bows, out of Washington state. Also Primative Archer Magazine ran an article on making bows out of sinew and buffalo horn. They cut the horns in a spiral. Large buffalo horns were about $15 a piece from Track of the Wolf last time I looked. I will look for the magazine but I think it was about 3 years ago.

      Current date/time is Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:04 pm