Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Today at 4:58 pm

» Medieval bowyer
by kenh Today at 3:55 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm

» Padre Island Bow
by Geezer Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:14 pm


    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Share
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:17 am

    Hi, everyone. I've been looking around this forum, and the net, and wondering if anyone has some advice or insights into building a replica target. The ones I have in mind were and are used in Italy. They are a round target, with a center cone or cones that presumably act as the 10 ring.

    http://www.federazionebalestrieri.sm/en/images

    is a photo of someone holding this kind of target.

    I'd like to build some of these, but am not sure what materials they are made of. I'm thinking of adding a crossbow competition to my primitive skills program at my club.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    avatar
    Basilisk120
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 548
    Join date : 2010-03-01
    Age : 38
    Location : Arizona

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Basilisk120 on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:27 pm

    Those are cool looking targets, I agree that they would make good targets and might have to have one at a competition I have to run.

    From the picture it looks like a hardwood log. If you look at the 6 O'clock position on the middle level you can see were part of it has peeled away.

    But I have sent and email to the contact listed on the site so hopefully they reply so we can get an official answer.



    Something Something Dark Side
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:28 am

    Thanks for checking with that Italian federation. I agree, they seem to be made of wood, but maybe even a soft wood? Whatever material it is, it has to allow the bolts to stick in the target, but not damage them, too.

    Dane

    Sponsored content

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:54 pm