Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Yet another one
by jocky Today at 7:09 am

» Chinese crossbow with auxiliary string?
by c sitas Yesterday at 11:34 am

» Crusader crossbow
by c sitas Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:41 pm

» Whamo showed up, prod replacement ideas
by kenh Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:25 pm

» Renaissance Sporting crossbow
by tony a Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:10 am

» 15th century saxon prods
by Geezer Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:46 pm

» loose laminate issues
by c sitas Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:42 am

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by c sitas Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:55 pm

» My second crossbow
by Daniel Levesque Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:48 am

» Need to locate Windlass Crossbow, pre 1600, in Rome, Venice, or Florence
by 8fingers Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:24 pm

» Crossbow Projectiles
by Geezer Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:10 pm

» Greetings!
by OnlyHuman Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:40 am

» Anyone know what this is?
by Yuki23emma Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:54 pm

» Prod specs
by Onager Lovac Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:25 pm

» Finished Crossbow
by kenh Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:34 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:25 pm

» Reverse draw "compound" build
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:20 pm

» Casting Resource
by White Oak Wed May 31, 2017 2:28 am

» The Road so far......
by White Oak Mon May 29, 2017 7:17 am

» GLOSSARY OF TERMS
by Onager Lovac Wed May 24, 2017 6:41 pm

» Hello from Maine
by White Oak Sun May 21, 2017 11:06 pm

» Leonardo Da Vinci string with suport-rolls
by Oppenheimer Tue May 16, 2017 11:40 am

» Compact repeating compound project
by Phil Abrahams Mon May 08, 2017 2:10 pm

» Trying to reduce the power stroke in my next project
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:27 pm

» Its good to be back!!
by Juan galeano Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:31 am


    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Share
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:17 am

    Hi, everyone. I've been looking around this forum, and the net, and wondering if anyone has some advice or insights into building a replica target. The ones I have in mind were and are used in Italy. They are a round target, with a center cone or cones that presumably act as the 10 ring.

    http://www.federazionebalestrieri.sm/en/images

    is a photo of someone holding this kind of target.

    I'd like to build some of these, but am not sure what materials they are made of. I'm thinking of adding a crossbow competition to my primitive skills program at my club.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    avatar
    Basilisk120
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 548
    Join date : 2010-03-01
    Age : 38
    Location : Arizona

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Basilisk120 on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:27 pm

    Those are cool looking targets, I agree that they would make good targets and might have to have one at a competition I have to run.

    From the picture it looks like a hardwood log. If you look at the 6 O'clock position on the middle level you can see were part of it has peeled away.

    But I have sent and email to the contact listed on the site so hopefully they reply so we can get an official answer.



    Something Something Dark Side
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:28 am

    Thanks for checking with that Italian federation. I agree, they seem to be made of wood, but maybe even a soft wood? Whatever material it is, it has to allow the bolts to stick in the target, but not damage them, too.

    Dane

    Sponsored content

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:07 am