Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Fast loading crossbow
by septua Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:22 am

» lashing a glass prod in raw hide?
by kenh Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:00 am

» Balestra Veloce / Leonardo DaVinci
by msalazar2310 Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:37 am

» Goats Foot Lever
by Geezer Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:42 pm

» Hickory and Ipe 180lb flatbow
by actionbow Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:56 pm

» goat foot questions.
by Geezer Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:26 am

» My latest crossbow
by actionbow Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:10 am

» Prod questions....
by Geezer Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

» convert compound cross bow to ball shooter
by kenh Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:34 am

» Skane Lockbow replica (and making of)
by actionbow Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:10 am

» horn inlay and veneer
by Geezer Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:21 am

» String traps bolt to tiller when loosed
by Geezer Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:36 am

» How close to original would you go
by jamesjohnson Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:36 am

» Crossbow bullet bolt's
by Geezer Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:27 pm

» Moving the nut lugs forward.
by Dark Factor Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:33 pm

» Bridle length and waxing?
by Geezer Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:08 pm

» Draw length VS. prod length on wood prods
by Dark Factor Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:32 am

» Typical dimensions of late Gothic composite bows
by Dark Factor Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:10 am

» Medieval stirrup crossbow
by Dark Factor Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:55 am

» Reciprocating Saw?
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 am

» Help Needed with Bullet Crossbow Prod
by Crossbowmen Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:43 pm

» Leaving the prod strung?
by JacobL Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:37 pm

» Crossbow for a 8 year old kid
by Daniel Levesque Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:11 pm

» Chinese carpenter make bed crossbow, earlest repeating crossbow and chu-ko-nu
by c sitas Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:49 pm

» Linen or Hemp String
by kenh Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:47 am


    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Share
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:17 am

    Hi, everyone. I've been looking around this forum, and the net, and wondering if anyone has some advice or insights into building a replica target. The ones I have in mind were and are used in Italy. They are a round target, with a center cone or cones that presumably act as the 10 ring.

    http://www.federazionebalestrieri.sm/en/images

    is a photo of someone holding this kind of target.

    I'd like to build some of these, but am not sure what materials they are made of. I'm thinking of adding a crossbow competition to my primitive skills program at my club.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    avatar
    Basilisk120
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 548
    Join date : 2010-03-01
    Age : 39
    Location : Arizona

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Basilisk120 on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:27 pm

    Those are cool looking targets, I agree that they would make good targets and might have to have one at a competition I have to run.

    From the picture it looks like a hardwood log. If you look at the 6 O'clock position on the middle level you can see were part of it has peeled away.

    But I have sent and email to the contact listed on the site so hopefully they reply so we can get an official answer.



    Something Something Dark Side
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:28 am

    Thanks for checking with that Italian federation. I agree, they seem to be made of wood, but maybe even a soft wood? Whatever material it is, it has to allow the bolts to stick in the target, but not damage them, too.

    Dane

    Sponsored content

    Re: Medieval / Ren Italian Target Reconstruction Help

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:07 am