Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» My first Crossbow Tell me what you think!
by c sitas Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:45 am

» G/Day from Queensland Australia
by Andy. Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:15 am

» Here I go, overthinking again
by stuckinthemud1 Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:15 am

» What string material is safe for Alchem Steel prods
by c sitas Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:13 am

» what's the best glue
by kenh Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:51 pm

» Finished Crossbow - Thanks to all - here some pic and if anyone wants info let me know happy to help .
by Gnome Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:08 pm

» Advice needed re test rig?
by stuckinthemud1 Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:55 am

» yew and sinew prod help needed
by stuckinthemud1 Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:40 pm

» Ball shooting Crossbows worth the bother
by Seventeen76 Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:59 pm

» Crusader crossbow
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:54 pm

» Plans and materials for my first build
by chilihook Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:53 am

» carving on early crossbows
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:32 am

» invisible joints in bone spine-inlay
by Geezer Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:43 pm

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by MePilot1 Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:44 am

» Getting the best accuracy from a crossbow
by dutchbow Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:45 am

» Pictures of crossbow I have been build
by chaz Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:02 pm

» Sharp bend in the tickler
by Geezer Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:11 pm

» Bolt weight to prod poundage
by Geezer Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:10 pm

» Commecial slingshot crossbow
by chaz Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:20 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by chrisgo Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:18 am

» making my first crossbow string
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:04 pm

» Looking for some help Identifying this crossbow
by Geezer Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:15 am

» Knot to secure nut twine?
by c sitas Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:28 am

» bolt rest advice
by stuckinthemud1 Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:23 pm

» what depth to Install a Prod and angle
by globalmark Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:19 am


    Prod Securing

    Share

    cbow101
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 6
    Join date : 2012-02-06
    Location : Canada

    Prod Securing

    Post by cbow101 on Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:06 pm

    [img][/img]Just finished up a prod for a xbow. It's all wood consisting of 4 lams 1 1/4 inches wide X 21 inches long. The poundage is between 70 and 80#, pull yet to be determined, but probably about 6-7. This will be a hand held unit, just slightly shorter than the norm. I'am also building it with the intentions of having a removable prod. The prod will be set back on the tiller about 4 inches with a slot cut into the tiller at 7 degress.

    My question is this I need a block of wood on both faces of the prod.......now been only 21 inches how long should the blocks be..? I was thinking around 3 inches. Input please

    cheers,Cool

    8fingers
    Workshop Savvy

    Did you see my tool collection?


    Workshop SavvyDid you see my tool collection?

    Posts : 188
    Join date : 2011-04-06
    Location : Chetwynd, BC, Canada

    Re: Prod Securing

    Post by 8fingers on Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:41 pm

    My formula is prod should be 2.2X draw length,nock to nock. A prod of 21 inches and a draw of 7 inches would give you up to 5.6 inches. But I imagine your prod's nock to nock length is actually about 1" shorter.
    My answer would be close to 4 1/2". This has a tiny fudge factor built in, so this should work if my nock to nock estimates are within a 1/4"

    cbow101
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 6
    Join date : 2012-02-06
    Location : Canada

    Re: Prod Securing

    Post by cbow101 on Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:48 am

    Cheers, It sounds really close. I'll do a dummy run see how it affects the draw wieght and such.....

    cbow101
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 6
    Join date : 2012-02-06
    Location : Canada

    Re: Prod Securing

    Post by cbow101 on Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:33 pm

    Nock to nock it ended up been 19 1/2 inches. I used 3 inch peices for prod pieces.

    Now I can use a 14 inch bolt or arrow......where can I buy them and what wieght do i use..?

    The pull is about 70# at 6 inch draw.

    8fingers
    Workshop Savvy

    Did you see my tool collection?


    Workshop SavvyDid you see my tool collection?

    Posts : 188
    Join date : 2011-04-06
    Location : Chetwynd, BC, Canada

    Re: Prod Securing

    Post by 8fingers on Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:14 pm

    I know someone who builds bolts in Saskatoon, if you are into SCA target shooting, and he could help you find bolts for other purposes. Send me a private message and I will hook you up.

    Sponsored content

    Re: Prod Securing

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:29 pm