Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» has anyone checked out the sling shot channel lately?
by Andy. Today at 2:11 pm

» Reciprocating Saw?
by c sitas Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:41 am

» Brace Hieght?
by chaz Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:02 pm

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by fester Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:08 pm

» Hemp cord and nut drilling?
by fester Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:22 am

» My project Powermaster
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:54 pm

» Lillohus crossbow
by Dark Factor Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:45 pm

» Old Powermaster project & question.
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:14 am

» Medieval composite bows
by Dark Factor Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:44 am

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:30 pm

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am


    Delrin Notch Lock

    Share
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 739
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by kenh on Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:21 am

    Here's an idea... Take a block of Delrin and inlet it into the tiller. Cut the Notch for a notch Lock into the Delrin and drill for the Push pin. Then use a Delrin rod as the Push Rod. Should seriously reduce the friction, I should think.

    Advantages? Drawbacks?
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 966
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Geezer on Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:25 am

    Facing the front of the notch with Delrin should help reduce string wear, as long as you can get the Delrin to stay in place. You'll probably have to use counter-sunk pins or screws for that, since the durned stuff won't glue to anything natural!
    Good idea, anyhow. I have used bone reinforces to notch-locks... if reasonably well polished, it offers a reduction in friction and you can even glue it, but Delrin should be lower-friction still. Try it, you may like it. Geezer
    avatar
    Basilisk120
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 548
    Join date : 2010-03-01
    Age : 38
    Location : Arizona

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Basilisk120 on Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:42 am

    Sounds like an interesting idea. I guess the only thing I would change would be to use a highly polished metal push rod, either brass or Stainless steel. That should slide nicely against the Delrin while not bending.



    A delrin push rod would have to be fairly stout but might work.



    Something Something Dark Side
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 739
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by kenh on Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:51 am

    OK - part 2 of this topic.

    Is there an optimum diameter for the push rod in relation to the width of stock, diameter of bolt or any other factor?

    Any advantage/disadvantage to topping the push rod with a curved T shape that matches the curve of the forward face of the notch?

    Sponsored content

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:35 pm