Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by kenh Today at 5:50 am

» Chinese crossbow with auxiliary string?
by stm2010 Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:48 am

» 15th century saxon prods
by Geezer Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:34 am

» Yet another one
by jocky Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:09 am

» Crusader crossbow
by c sitas Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:41 pm

» Whamo showed up, prod replacement ideas
by kenh Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:25 pm

» Renaissance Sporting crossbow
by tony a Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:10 am

» loose laminate issues
by c sitas Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:42 am

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by c sitas Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:55 pm

» My second crossbow
by Daniel Levesque Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:48 am

» Need to locate Windlass Crossbow, pre 1600, in Rome, Venice, or Florence
by 8fingers Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:24 pm

» Crossbow Projectiles
by Geezer Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:10 pm

» Greetings!
by OnlyHuman Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:40 am

» Anyone know what this is?
by Yuki23emma Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:54 pm

» Prod specs
by Onager Lovac Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:25 pm

» Finished Crossbow
by kenh Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:34 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:25 pm

» Reverse draw "compound" build
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:20 pm

» Casting Resource
by White Oak Wed May 31, 2017 2:28 am

» The Road so far......
by White Oak Mon May 29, 2017 7:17 am

» GLOSSARY OF TERMS
by Onager Lovac Wed May 24, 2017 6:41 pm

» Hello from Maine
by White Oak Sun May 21, 2017 11:06 pm

» Leonardo Da Vinci string with suport-rolls
by Oppenheimer Tue May 16, 2017 11:40 am

» Compact repeating compound project
by Phil Abrahams Mon May 08, 2017 2:10 pm

» Trying to reduce the power stroke in my next project
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:27 pm


    Delrin Notch Lock

    Share
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 713
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by kenh on Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:21 am

    Here's an idea... Take a block of Delrin and inlet it into the tiller. Cut the Notch for a notch Lock into the Delrin and drill for the Push pin. Then use a Delrin rod as the Push Rod. Should seriously reduce the friction, I should think.

    Advantages? Drawbacks?
    avatar
    Geezer
    Master Crossbowyer
    Master Crossbowyer

    Posts : 933
    Join date : 2010-01-12
    Age : 69
    Location : Austin, Texas, USA

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Geezer on Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:25 am

    Facing the front of the notch with Delrin should help reduce string wear, as long as you can get the Delrin to stay in place. You'll probably have to use counter-sunk pins or screws for that, since the durned stuff won't glue to anything natural!
    Good idea, anyhow. I have used bone reinforces to notch-locks... if reasonably well polished, it offers a reduction in friction and you can even glue it, but Delrin should be lower-friction still. Try it, you may like it. Geezer
    avatar
    Basilisk120
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 548
    Join date : 2010-03-01
    Age : 38
    Location : Arizona

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Basilisk120 on Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:42 am

    Sounds like an interesting idea. I guess the only thing I would change would be to use a highly polished metal push rod, either brass or Stainless steel. That should slide nicely against the Delrin while not bending.



    A delrin push rod would have to be fairly stout but might work.



    Something Something Dark Side
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 713
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by kenh on Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:51 am

    OK - part 2 of this topic.

    Is there an optimum diameter for the push rod in relation to the width of stock, diameter of bolt or any other factor?

    Any advantage/disadvantage to topping the push rod with a curved T shape that matches the curve of the forward face of the notch?

    Sponsored content

    Re: Delrin Notch Lock

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Thu Jun 29, 2017 6:24 am