Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Reverse draw "compound" build
by FrenckBrambo Today at 6:18 am

» Prod specs
by White Oak Today at 4:23 am

» GLOSSARY OF TERMS
by White Oak Today at 4:09 am

» Crusader crossbow
by c sitas Yesterday at 8:48 am

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by White Oak Yesterday at 4:03 am

» Hello from Maine
by White Oak Sun May 21, 2017 11:06 pm

» Need to locate Windlass Crossbow, pre 1600, in Rome, Venice, or Florence
by Vincenti Thu May 18, 2017 7:18 pm

» Leonardo Da Vinci string with suport-rolls
by Oppenheimer Tue May 16, 2017 11:40 am

» Compact repeating compound project
by Phil Abrahams Mon May 08, 2017 2:10 pm

» Trying to reduce the power stroke in my next project
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:27 pm

» The Road so far......
by Onager Lovac Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:07 pm

» Its good to be back!!
by Juan galeano Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:31 am

» The crossbow...What is?!
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:07 pm

» I need your advices on a new crossbow project
by Daniel Levesque Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:58 pm

» Guidance Designing My First Slinger
by kenh Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:17 pm

» New member
by harry6855 Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:28 am

» Chinese style crossbow trigger 3d modeled with templates.
by Bs1110101 Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:14 am

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by hullutiedemies Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:52 am

» Hello from Asia
by Daniel Levesque Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:49 am

» Medieval crossbow modeled in Tinkercad, with variant trigger design.
by Bs1110101 Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:42 pm

» New project"s"
by kenh Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:38 pm

» New member here!
by c sitas Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:49 am

» Fixing a bad delflex
by Daniel Levesque Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:13 am

» H L Bailey Plans
by ora8i Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:49 am

» Top of Crossbow (launch?)
by Geezer Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:41 pm


    Espringal

    Share
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Espringal

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:23 am

    Hi, gang. This is a longer-range project, hopefully for sometimes this year. I have been facinated with medieval espringals / springalds for some time. They were the final evolution of Roman torsion artillary technology. The Sketchup drawing is not complete, and still working out the geometry of the weapon, and the best way to build one that can break down for transportation. This will be a small model, about 3 feet long by 2 feet wide, but should be a really cool and fun thing to have in my arsenal. Not show are the torsion skeins and arms, and the winch and arms at the back. It works on the principle of the screw to span it. I have plenty of ash around to build this, and it should be a fun challenge when I can actually build it. When that happens, you will get a complete report, of course.
    Dane

      Current date/time is Tue May 23, 2017 10:52 am