Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Crossbow bullet bolt's
by Geezer Yesterday at 5:27 pm

» How close to original would you go
by Geezer Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:30 am

» Skane Lockbow replica (and making of)
by Dark Factor Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:46 am

» Moving the nut lugs forward.
by Dark Factor Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:33 pm

» Bridle length and waxing?
by Geezer Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:08 pm

» Draw length VS. prod length on wood prods
by Dark Factor Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:32 am

» Typical dimensions of late Gothic composite bows
by Dark Factor Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:10 am

» Medieval stirrup crossbow
by Dark Factor Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:55 am

» Reciprocating Saw?
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 am

» Help Needed with Bullet Crossbow Prod
by Crossbowmen Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:43 pm

» Leaving the prod strung?
by JacobL Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:37 pm

» Crossbow for a 8 year old kid
by Daniel Levesque Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:11 pm

» Chinese carpenter make bed crossbow, earlest repeating crossbow and chu-ko-nu
by c sitas Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:49 pm

» Linen or Hemp String
by kenh Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:47 am

» New member
by Geezer Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:00 pm

» Why the ratchet in Greek gastraphetes can hold on the string force?
by Dark Factor Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

» How to calculate potential energy in a compound system?
by Alan Case Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:02 pm

» Nut from a pool que ball?
by chaz Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:46 am

» Great Machines
by rickraedeke Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:32 am

» Crossbow Legality Help (Canada)
by JacobL Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:31 pm

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by fester Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:53 pm

» MISFIRES! ...String passing underneath bolt!
by Anatine Duo Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:18 pm

» Best diameter delrin for nut ?
by Geezer Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:08 pm

» Opinions on this Thing?
by JacobL Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:45 pm

» Ideas and designs for a Crossbow Inside A Pipe?
by JacobL Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:38 pm


    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!

    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12


    Post by stoneagebowyer on Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:23 am

    Hi, gang. This is a longer-range project, hopefully for sometimes this year. I have been facinated with medieval espringals / springalds for some time. They were the final evolution of Roman torsion artillary technology. The Sketchup drawing is not complete, and still working out the geometry of the weapon, and the best way to build one that can break down for transportation. This will be a small model, about 3 feet long by 2 feet wide, but should be a really cool and fun thing to have in my arsenal. Not show are the torsion skeins and arms, and the winch and arms at the back. It works on the principle of the screw to span it. I have plenty of ash around to build this, and it should be a fun challenge when I can actually build it. When that happens, you will get a complete report, of course.

      Current date/time is Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:12 pm