Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Today at 2:10 pm

» Medieval bowyer
by kenh Today at 1:36 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

» First Efforts
by rickraedeke Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:25 am

» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm

» Padre Island Bow
by Geezer Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:14 pm


    Espringal

    Share
    avatar
    stoneagebowyer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 490
    Join date : 2011-01-12

    Espringal

    Post by stoneagebowyer on Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:23 am

    Hi, gang. This is a longer-range project, hopefully for sometimes this year. I have been facinated with medieval espringals / springalds for some time. They were the final evolution of Roman torsion artillary technology. The Sketchup drawing is not complete, and still working out the geometry of the weapon, and the best way to build one that can break down for transportation. This will be a small model, about 3 feet long by 2 feet wide, but should be a really cool and fun thing to have in my arsenal. Not show are the torsion skeins and arms, and the winch and arms at the back. It works on the principle of the screw to span it. I have plenty of ash around to build this, and it should be a fun challenge when I can actually build it. When that happens, you will get a complete report, of course.
    Dane

      Current date/time is Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:06 pm