The Arbalist Guild

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Chu Ko Nu - repeating chinese crossbow
by c sitas Today at 8:30 am

» Ball shooting Crossbows worth the bother
by topfmine Wed Sep 15, 2021 3:24 pm

» Skew of tiller
by drawknife Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:18 am

» tiller desgin
by crusader Wed Aug 18, 2021 10:37 am

» Want to build modern target crossbow
by ora8i Fri Aug 13, 2021 1:20 pm

» starting a 1400's replica
by tghsmith Wed Aug 11, 2021 10:25 am

» New Medieval just about finished
by Dark Factor Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:41 am

» How do I tune this
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Jul 25, 2021 3:14 am

» Plans and materials for my first build
by c sitas Sat Jul 03, 2021 7:39 am

» Bolt rest
by stuckinthemud1 Mon Jun 14, 2021 3:24 pm

» Collotiere a Charavines crossbow
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Jun 06, 2021 2:25 pm

» ash lath and pin-lock crossbow
by stuckinthemud1 Wed Jun 02, 2021 7:56 am

» Late medieval tournament distances?
by stuckinthemud1 Thu Apr 15, 2021 8:20 am

» Cutting delrin straight by hand?
by kenh Thu Apr 01, 2021 8:24 pm

» Other forums like this one?
by stuckinthemud1 Tue Mar 30, 2021 9:23 am

» new find in china, terra cotta warrior site
by tghsmith Thu Mar 25, 2021 4:42 am

» Crossbow Books
by Andy. Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:46 pm

» 95lb ancient crossbow shot faster than 960lb medieval
by Fangbows Fri Mar 12, 2021 11:36 pm

» best type of horn to use..
by kenh Tue Mar 09, 2021 3:16 pm

» re-introduction
by tghsmith Sun Mar 07, 2021 3:15 pm

» 4 fletch question
by 8fingers Fri Feb 05, 2021 3:14 am

» fix bolts
by MPDVM Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:40 pm

» Reverse draw compound bow build
by c sitas Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:20 pm

» New Build for 2020
by Gnome Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:19 am

» Spanning bench ideas
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Jan 08, 2021 1:07 pm


2 posters

    Where do I start?

    TDHorton
    TDHorton
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 11
    Join date : 2010-08-18
    Age : 75
    Location : Salida, CO

    Where do I start? Empty Where do I start?

    Post by TDHorton Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:18 pm

    Just joined site and in need of a lot of help/advice. I'm still not familiar with the search function, so forgive me for possible repeat questions. I'm building this for my son (age 40) who bow hunts deer/turkey. I've spent most of the day reading online, but still have as many/more questions than I had at the start of the day. So here are a few, who's answers can hopefully get me started:

    Type of wood for tiller? Saw one today that was faced on either side with what looked like a light maple with the center section cherry or a darker wood.

    Recommended/preferred trigger mechanism? Roller nut? Clap lock? Notch lock? And why?

    Recommended span method? Why? Does prod strength dictate type?

    Looked at Alchem Inc for prod, strings, release methods. Do you recommend them? Anyone better?

    OK, that should get me started! I welcome ANY other advice/suggestions/etc.

    Thanks!
    Terry
    Pavise
    Pavise
    Dear Friend, You will be Greatly Missed.
    Dear Friend, You will be Greatly Missed.

    Posts : 128
    Join date : 2010-02-07

    Where do I start? Empty Re: Where do I start?

    Post by Pavise Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:12 pm

    Hi Terry,

    Welcome aboard.

    I suggest that you take a look at Geezer's book before making any wood chips and sawdust. See http://www.crossbows.net/ifboc.php

    And then take the time to go back through all the other posts, where I'm sure you will find some good and reliable information.

    It sounds like you want to try making a medieval type of crossbow and for that I suggest one of Alchem's prods of about 150 lbs and a roller nut release. Tinker is working on one right now and you might like to follow along with what he's doing.

    Pavise

      Current date/time is Fri Sep 24, 2021 6:05 pm