Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» has anyone checked out the sling shot channel lately?
by Andy. Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:11 pm

» Reciprocating Saw?
by c sitas Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:41 am

» Brace Hieght?
by chaz Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:02 pm

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by fester Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:08 pm

» Hemp cord and nut drilling?
by fester Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:22 am

» My project Powermaster
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:54 pm

» Lillohus crossbow
by Dark Factor Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:45 pm

» Old Powermaster project & question.
by EugeneSlagle Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:14 am

» Medieval composite bows
by Dark Factor Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:44 am

» Medieval bowyer
by Dark Factor Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:30 pm

» New crossbow builder
by wjbates1430 Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:10 pm

» Airsoft Crossbow-Finished at Last!
by JacobL Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:27 pm

» Powermaster Madness
by c sitas Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:41 am

» Powermaster
by c sitas Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:58 am

» Best wood for a novice?
by Geezer Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:21 am

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by Geezer Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

» Great Machines
by c sitas Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:39 pm

» Medieval Crossbow Bolts DIY Question
by Rumburak Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:17 pm

» Berkhamsted Castle and Glasgow Museum wooden prod crossbow
by Juniper Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:54 pm

» Beware of Alchem
by Archer46176 Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:33 pm

» How to measure and cut leather for prod
by Celtic Archer Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:56 pm

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by John Edgerton Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:38 pm

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by JacobL Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:03 pm

» Early Lever and pin Crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:56 am

» Crusader crossbow
by topfmine Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am


    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Share

    Tritonbob
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 1
    Join date : 2011-12-04

    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by Tritonbob on Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:59 am

    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first post on this site although I have been an avid reader since joining.

    This message is intended for any UK members that may be able to give me advice regarding where I might be able to shoot my part completed crossbow when it is eventually finished. I have contacted the NCF ( National Crossbow Federation ) within the UK some time ago , but am still awaiting a reply in respect to membership etc. Am I correct in thinking that this organisation no longer exists due to the non contact. If this is the case, could any UK members of this forum kindly advise me as to whether any other club exists that I could approach for membership.

    Thanks for your time.

    Regards,

    Bob
    avatar
    backgardenbowyer
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 27
    Join date : 2013-01-13
    Location : London

    Re: Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by backgardenbowyer on Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:10 pm

    Hi Bob.  I shoot a "modified medieval" (see profile pic) in the NFAS which is the field archery association (far more fun than conventional target shooting).  Not all NFAS clubs allow crossbows as some landowners are against them.  Be aware that to be NFAS legal a crossbow must have a trigger guard, safety catch and bolt retaining clip.  No form of spanning device is allowed - you must span by hand.  So true medieval bows dont qualify, but a few modifications gets you round this.

    What are you building?  Please share some pics :-)

    Stan

      Current date/time is Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:56 am