Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Crossbow with built in lever?
by kenh Today at 6:21 am

» Chinese crossbow with auxiliary string?
by stm2010 Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:48 am

» 15th century saxon prods
by Geezer Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:34 am

» Yet another one
by jocky Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:09 am

» Crusader crossbow
by c sitas Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:41 pm

» Whamo showed up, prod replacement ideas
by kenh Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:25 pm

» Renaissance Sporting crossbow
by tony a Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:10 am

» loose laminate issues
by c sitas Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:42 am

» Of Bows and Torsion Engines
by c sitas Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:55 pm

» My second crossbow
by Daniel Levesque Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:48 am

» Need to locate Windlass Crossbow, pre 1600, in Rome, Venice, or Florence
by 8fingers Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:24 pm

» Crossbow Projectiles
by Geezer Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:10 pm

» Greetings!
by OnlyHuman Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:40 am

» Anyone know what this is?
by Yuki23emma Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:54 pm

» Prod specs
by Onager Lovac Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:25 pm

» Finished Crossbow
by kenh Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:34 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:25 pm

» Reverse draw "compound" build
by Turnigy Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:20 pm

» Casting Resource
by White Oak Wed May 31, 2017 2:28 am

» The Road so far......
by White Oak Mon May 29, 2017 7:17 am

» GLOSSARY OF TERMS
by Onager Lovac Wed May 24, 2017 6:41 pm

» Hello from Maine
by White Oak Sun May 21, 2017 11:06 pm

» Leonardo Da Vinci string with suport-rolls
by Oppenheimer Tue May 16, 2017 11:40 am

» Compact repeating compound project
by Phil Abrahams Mon May 08, 2017 2:10 pm

» Trying to reduce the power stroke in my next project
by octavioaugusto.oliveira Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:27 pm


    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Share

    Tritonbob
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 1
    Join date : 2011-12-04

    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by Tritonbob on Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:59 am

    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first post on this site although I have been an avid reader since joining.

    This message is intended for any UK members that may be able to give me advice regarding where I might be able to shoot my part completed crossbow when it is eventually finished. I have contacted the NCF ( National Crossbow Federation ) within the UK some time ago , but am still awaiting a reply in respect to membership etc. Am I correct in thinking that this organisation no longer exists due to the non contact. If this is the case, could any UK members of this forum kindly advise me as to whether any other club exists that I could approach for membership.

    Thanks for your time.

    Regards,

    Bob
    avatar
    backgardenbowyer
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 27
    Join date : 2013-01-13
    Location : London

    Re: Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by backgardenbowyer on Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:10 pm

    Hi Bob.  I shoot a "modified medieval" (see profile pic) in the NFAS which is the field archery association (far more fun than conventional target shooting).  Not all NFAS clubs allow crossbows as some landowners are against them.  Be aware that to be NFAS legal a crossbow must have a trigger guard, safety catch and bolt retaining clip.  No form of spanning device is allowed - you must span by hand.  So true medieval bows dont qualify, but a few modifications gets you round this.

    What are you building?  Please share some pics :-)

    Stan

      Current date/time is Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:46 am