Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Crossbow bullet bolt's
by Geezer Yesterday at 5:27 pm

» How close to original would you go
by Geezer Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:30 am

» Skane Lockbow replica (and making of)
by Dark Factor Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:46 am

» Moving the nut lugs forward.
by Dark Factor Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:33 pm

» Bridle length and waxing?
by Geezer Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:08 pm

» Draw length VS. prod length on wood prods
by Dark Factor Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:32 am

» Typical dimensions of late Gothic composite bows
by Dark Factor Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:10 am

» Medieval stirrup crossbow
by Dark Factor Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:55 am

» Reciprocating Saw?
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 am

» Help Needed with Bullet Crossbow Prod
by Crossbowmen Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:43 pm

» Leaving the prod strung?
by JacobL Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:37 pm

» Crossbow for a 8 year old kid
by Daniel Levesque Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:11 pm

» Chinese carpenter make bed crossbow, earlest repeating crossbow and chu-ko-nu
by c sitas Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:49 pm

» Linen or Hemp String
by kenh Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:47 am

» New member
by Geezer Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:00 pm

» Why the ratchet in Greek gastraphetes can hold on the string force?
by Dark Factor Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

» How to calculate potential energy in a compound system?
by Alan Case Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:02 pm

» Nut from a pool que ball?
by chaz Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:46 am

» Great Machines
by rickraedeke Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:32 am

» Crossbow Legality Help (Canada)
by JacobL Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:31 pm

» Adding a steel sear insert?
by fester Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:53 pm

» MISFIRES! ...String passing underneath bolt!
by Anatine Duo Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:18 pm

» Best diameter delrin for nut ?
by Geezer Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:08 pm

» Opinions on this Thing?
by JacobL Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:45 pm

» Ideas and designs for a Crossbow Inside A Pipe?
by JacobL Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:38 pm

    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK


    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 1
    Join date : 2011-12-04

    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by Tritonbob on Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:59 am

    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first post on this site although I have been an avid reader since joining.

    This message is intended for any UK members that may be able to give me advice regarding where I might be able to shoot my part completed crossbow when it is eventually finished. I have contacted the NCF ( National Crossbow Federation ) within the UK some time ago , but am still awaiting a reply in respect to membership etc. Am I correct in thinking that this organisation no longer exists due to the non contact. If this is the case, could any UK members of this forum kindly advise me as to whether any other club exists that I could approach for membership.

    Thanks for your time.


    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 27
    Join date : 2013-01-13
    Location : London

    Re: Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by backgardenbowyer on Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:10 pm

    Hi Bob.  I shoot a "modified medieval" (see profile pic) in the NFAS which is the field archery association (far more fun than conventional target shooting).  Not all NFAS clubs allow crossbows as some landowners are against them.  Be aware that to be NFAS legal a crossbow must have a trigger guard, safety catch and bolt retaining clip.  No form of spanning device is allowed - you must span by hand.  So true medieval bows dont qualify, but a few modifications gets you round this.

    What are you building?  Please share some pics :-)


      Current date/time is Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:19 pm