Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» invisible joints in bone spine-inlay
by Geezer Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:43 pm

» Plans and materials for my first build
by chilihook Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:18 am

» My 2nd crossbow project - german crossbow with cranequin
by MePilot1 Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:44 am

» Getting the best accuracy from a crossbow
by dutchbow Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:45 am

» Pictures of crossbow I have been build
by chaz Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:02 pm

» Finished Crossbow - Thanks to all - here some pic and if anyone wants info let me know happy to help .
by Geezer Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:16 pm

» Sharp bend in the tickler
by Geezer Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:11 pm

» Bolt weight to prod poundage
by Geezer Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:10 pm

» Commecial slingshot crossbow
by chaz Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:20 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by chrisgo Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:18 am

» making my first crossbow string
by stuckinthemud1 Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:04 pm

» Looking for some help Identifying this crossbow
by Geezer Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:15 am

» Knot to secure nut twine?
by c sitas Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:28 am

» bolt rest advice
by stuckinthemud1 Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:23 pm

» what depth to Install a Prod and angle
by globalmark Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:19 am

» tickler taper
by stuckinthemud1 Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:25 pm

» any sneaky hints and tips?
by stuckinthemud1 Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:57 am

» Greetings from Central Connecticut
by chilihook Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:09 am

» how deep should I recess the nut?
by stuckinthemud1 Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:19 am

» Ball shooting Crossbows worth the bother
by topfmine Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:25 am

» Marble Shooting Crossbow
by JacobL Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:27 am

» My first Crossbow
by Geezer Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:58 pm

» bridle eye horn re-enforcing examples anyone?
by stuckinthemud1 Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:19 am

» Blocked pictures by Photobucket
by topfmine Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:18 am

» Italy palio tournament style bullet bow
by septua Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:22 pm


    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Share

    Tritonbob
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 1
    Join date : 2011-12-04

    Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by Tritonbob on Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:59 am

    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first post on this site although I have been an avid reader since joining.

    This message is intended for any UK members that may be able to give me advice regarding where I might be able to shoot my part completed crossbow when it is eventually finished. I have contacted the NCF ( National Crossbow Federation ) within the UK some time ago , but am still awaiting a reply in respect to membership etc. Am I correct in thinking that this organisation no longer exists due to the non contact. If this is the case, could any UK members of this forum kindly advise me as to whether any other club exists that I could approach for membership.

    Thanks for your time.

    Regards,

    Bob
    avatar
    backgardenbowyer
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 27
    Join date : 2013-01-13
    Location : London

    Re: Medieval Crossbow Shooters in the UK

    Post by backgardenbowyer on Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:10 pm

    Hi Bob.  I shoot a "modified medieval" (see profile pic) in the NFAS which is the field archery association (far more fun than conventional target shooting).  Not all NFAS clubs allow crossbows as some landowners are against them.  Be aware that to be NFAS legal a crossbow must have a trigger guard, safety catch and bolt retaining clip.  No form of spanning device is allowed - you must span by hand.  So true medieval bows dont qualify, but a few modifications gets you round this.

    What are you building?  Please share some pics :-)

    Stan

      Current date/time is Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:51 am