New to The Forum

diyguy
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

New to The Forum

Post by diyguy on Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:50 pm

Hello, folks. I'm new to the forum, and interested in building a crossbow. The picture posted by Bill Barton on Alchem's site sums up my interest, mostly. I'd like to fabricate as much as possible myself, including the prod. And wouldn't mind using hardwood shafts. From my interest in vertical traditional bows, I'm guessing that Douglas fir or Ipe might be good candidates. Technical wise, I'm green, aside from having read Payne-Gallwey's book.

kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

I live here!

Crossbow JunkieI live here!

Re: New to The Forum

Post by kenh on Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:00 pm

Welcome!  Payne-Galwey is a great place to start.  You can hunt with any version of a crossbow from a Skane style pinlock with a mostly rectangular tiller, to a high-tech modern inswinger with a Star Wars tiller.

diyguy
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

Post by diyguy on Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:26 pm

Thank you. I like the one I mentioned, because it seems like a good compromise between traditional in look and modern in application. I understand the old sighting methods, but looking down the bolt, or some type of open sights, with a rifle type stock seems like it would be more conducive to accuracy, with less movement to spook a wary whitetail. If I'm going to do the work, I want it to be (relatively) as quiet as possible, also. Sort of a traditional looking Excalibur. Or is that a real tall task for a first timer? I'm decent at woodworking. I just want to be able to do the job out to 40 yards, like with a vertical bow. No forge, but I can use most other relevant tools. P-G shows a wood and metal cocking device that works similar to a goat foot, or maybe just a modern rope with T handles and double hooks, like the E.

kenh
    Crossbow Junkie