Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Stonebow Buildalong
by banuvatt Yesterday at 2:20 pm

» Can anyone help me ID this?
by Geezer Sat Jan 25, 2020 8:30 pm

» Mad Max "Road Warrior" build
by jungblut Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:21 am

» Just finished my windlass crossbow!
by Dennis Greenaway Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:09 am

» First Build
by banuvatt Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:00 am

» How to lash on a lath?
by stuckinthemud1 Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:52 pm

» Question regarding the goat’s foot lever
by Wildtech Mon Dec 30, 2019 1:25 am

» Any one seen a string release like this?
by tallpine Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:10 am

» PVC pipe prod: Normal or loose laminate?
by banuvatt Tue Dec 10, 2019 7:37 pm

» swiss national museum crossbow IN-46
by stuckinthemud1 Tue Dec 03, 2019 12:58 pm

» Question regarding the goat’s foot lever
by Geezer Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:16 am

» Just finished my windlass crossbow!
by Arcuballista Mon Nov 25, 2019 6:26 pm

» How to Test the Breaking Strength of a Matieral for a Bow String?
by banuvatt Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:13 pm

» Compound twinbow pistol (posts vs pulleys)
by chaz Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:07 am

» Linen or Hemp String
by banuvatt Sun Nov 17, 2019 3:35 pm

» Length of End Loops for Prod String?
by Geezer Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:46 am

» Nut Diagram
by banuvatt Wed Nov 13, 2019 5:53 pm

» 17th century stonebow school project
by banuvatt Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:46 pm

» swiss national museum crossbow LM-6010
by stuckinthemud1 Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:29 pm

» what depth to Install a Prod and angle
by globalmark Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:42 am

» Tickler Dimensions?
by Geezer Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:56 am

» Pins in Trigger Mechanisms
by Gnome Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:49 pm

» How To Make a Roller Nut?
by banuvatt Fri Nov 01, 2019 6:16 pm

» Roller Nut Size
by banuvatt Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:59 pm

» anyone know anything about this one - updated with new image
by stuckinthemud1 Thu Oct 31, 2019 9:16 am


    what depth to Install a Prod and angle

    avatar
    globalmark
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 25
    Join date : 2018-06-08

    what depth to Install a Prod and angle  Empty what depth to Install a Prod and angle

    Post by globalmark on Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:19 pm

    Hi Guys 

    ok just had time to get back to my crossbow build but my bamboo and timber prod snapped so bought a 160lbs Taiwanese prod 27" ones that few people use ..

    seem i can draw back 12" 3-3.5" brace 

    But what depth into the stock should i mount this - is there a way to work it out 
    and what angle (6˚ seems common ) - will 6˚ do for the angle .oh and does anyone have recommendation best way to hold prod in stock (i made a modern gun style stock with thumb hole) much longer then needed currently so can have extra after the prod ?? 




    Thanks Mark
    avatar
    banuvatt
    Workshop Savvy

    Did you see my tool collection?


    Workshop SavvyDid you see my tool collection?

    Posts : 211
    Join date : 2018-09-12

    what depth to Install a Prod and angle  Empty Re: what depth to Install a Prod and angle

    Post by banuvatt on Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:47 pm

    Measure 3/8-1/2" down from the top front of the stock, this is how much the prod should be below the track. Have the prod strung and hold it against the front of the stock, making sure that the top of the prod matches with the line you drew. Hold down the string against the track to keep it in place, then get a ruler put it against the belly of the prod. Draw a line copying the angle of the prod strung against the stock. Also to hold the prod in place I suggest using wedges.
    avatar
    globalmark
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 25
    Join date : 2018-06-08

    what depth to Install a Prod and angle  Empty Re: what depth to Install a Prod and angle

    Post by globalmark on Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:42 am

    Hi Banuvatt

    Thanks so much for the reply , however this was posted more then a year ago and crossbow has been finished approx a year - i did post pics somewhere here .
    but thanks for that info i am sure it will help someone else out in the future ..
    Mark 

    http://thearbalistguild.forumotion.com/t1686-finished-crossbow-thanks-to-all-here-some-pic-and-if-anyone-wants-info-let-me-know-happy-to-help

    Sponsored content

    what depth to Install a Prod and angle  Empty Re: what depth to Install a Prod and angle

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:35 pm