» aluminum prod
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:38 am

» First whitetail buck taken with medieval crossbow
by Phil Abrahams Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:38 am

» Airsoft Crossbow
by JacobL Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:11 pm

» Questions about steel prod specs
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:25 pm

» Faking a medieval composite crossbow prod.
by JacobL Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:13 pm

» Airsoft Bow
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:56 pm

» Hello All!
by JacobL Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:54 pm

"Post-Apoc" paintball crossbow project

Blue62
    Fresh Blood

Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows

Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

"Post-Apoc" paintball crossbow project

Post by Blue62 on Wed May 29, 2013 4:35 pm

Reading through the suggestions on my intro post, I think I've got an idea what I'm aiming for- but because I don't have the experience or tools to really do things 'by the book' as it were, i'm borrowing a page from my best friends projects book. Improvising Wink

I salvaged a broken rib from one of our road signs off the work truck to use as a bow, with a little reinforcement (at this point, thinking epoxy the cracked end and then wrap both in a layer of duct tape and electrical tape) and cutting out the splintered middle section, I can get two serviceable arms to use.

My trade is essentially knots, attaching a bow string will probably be a pair of triple fisherman knots tied with either a heavy gauge clothesline I use for a dozen handy things, or a section of throwing line (rated probably significantly higher than the clothesline- most arborists I know will put on gloves to yank on this stuff when their throw-ball get's stuck)

I don't trust the rib to not split if i put a nail or screw through it, so to attach it to the end of the 2x4 inch plank I'm using as a stock i'm going to section off a couple slabs and pinch the arms between those