Crossbows - Everything about Building, Modding, and Using your Crossbow Gear

Latest topics

» Trouble with my Gafa
by Geezer Today at 12:31 pm

» horn inlay and veneer
by stuckinthemud1 Today at 12:05 pm

» Presentation
by c sitas Yesterday at 4:31 pm

» My latest crossbow
by drawknife Tue May 22, 2018 3:13 pm

» Medieval composite bows
by Dark Factor Mon May 21, 2018 12:46 pm

» The Arbalist Guild - Around the World
by stuckinthemud1 Sun May 20, 2018 5:32 am

» angles and rivets
by Geezer Fri May 18, 2018 1:16 pm

» morticed nut blocks
by Dark Factor Wed May 16, 2018 12:02 pm

» Crossbow triggers
by Croftage Mon May 14, 2018 1:41 pm

» yew and sinew prod help needed
by OrienM Sat May 12, 2018 8:29 am

» Cocking lever
by c sitas Fri May 11, 2018 8:09 am

» Late roman crossbow
by Dark Factor Wed May 09, 2018 10:27 am

» For Sale: Masai Crossbow
by TonyU Tue May 08, 2018 6:35 am

» Powermaster Madness
by Archer46176 Sun May 06, 2018 8:08 pm

» Fast loading crossbow
by septua Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:22 am

» lashing a glass prod in raw hide?
by kenh Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:00 am

» Balestra Veloce / Leonardo DaVinci
by msalazar2310 Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:37 am

» Goats Foot Lever
by Geezer Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:42 pm

» Hickory and Ipe 180lb flatbow
by actionbow Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:56 pm

» goat foot questions.
by Geezer Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:26 am

» Prod questions....
by Geezer Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

» convert compound cross bow to ball shooter
by kenh Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:34 am

» Skane Lockbow replica (and making of)
by actionbow Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:10 am

» String traps bolt to tiller when loosed
by Geezer Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:36 am

» How close to original would you go
by jamesjohnson Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:36 am


    Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Share
    avatar
    BigFoot
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 2
    Join date : 2012-11-24
    Location : N. AZ. Terr.

    Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by BigFoot on Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:17 pm

    not exactly sure what to say. for the last two years or so i've been learning professional knifemaking, blacksmithing, jewlery making, and dreaming of my own shop.. well, its time for that shop! Very Happy

    i have a deep obsession with blacksmithing, i like making things. i have friends who are artists, swordmakers, armourers, etc... I don't claim to be any of that. I'm a thing maker! a tinkerer.

    crossbows look interesting.. very interesting.
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 765
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Re: Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by kenh on Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:03 pm

    Howdy Bigfoot!

    Build me a latchet mechanism for a crossbow! See the discussion here about this style of action:
    http://thearbalistguild.forumotion.com/t809-latchet-crossbow-build-along-by-leo-todeschini?highlight=latchet
    avatar
    BigFoot
    Fresh Blood

    Doesn't mean
    I'm new to crossbows


    Fresh Blood Doesn't meanI'm new to crossbows

    Posts : 2
    Join date : 2012-11-24
    Location : N. AZ. Terr.

    Re: Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by BigFoot on Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:56 am

    that's great!!! is it possible to use a latchet system in a hunting weight bow?
    avatar
    Todd the archer
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 581
    Join date : 2010-02-25
    Age : 56
    Location : sellersville,pa.

    Re: Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by Todd the archer on Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:45 pm

    A Barnett Commando uses something similar to cock the crossbow. So yes I guess it is possible to build one heavy enough for hunting.



    Todd
    avatar
    kenh
    Crossbow Junkie

    I live here!


    Crossbow JunkieI live here!

    Posts : 765
    Join date : 2012-08-03
    Age : 69
    Location : Living Aboard a Sailboat in Fort Myers, FL

    Re: Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by kenh on Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:39 am

    In the original discussion on My Armoury, the builder mentions that latchet bows were used as civil defense weapons (ie man-killers) in the north of England/Scottish Borders area. That I know from my own research into the history of the Borders. Any man-killer weapon, in the right hands, is a game-getter too.

    He also mentions the bow he made to accompany the action as 225# draw, although with a short draw. Pretty looking cupid's shape bow he has there.

    Sponsored content

    Re: Hello from Arizona Terr.

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Thu May 24, 2018 7:33 pm